EGU - About EGU

European Geosciences Union

EGU logo

About EGU

EGU, the European Geosciences Union, is Europe’s premier geosciences union, dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in the Earth, planetary, and space sciences for the benefit of humanity, worldwide. It was established in September 2002 as a merger of the European Geophysical Society (EGS) and the European Union of Geosciences (EUG), and has headquarters in Munich, Germany.

It is a non-profit international union of scientists with over 12,500 members from all over the world. Membership is open to individuals who are professionally engaged in or associated with geosciences and planetary and space sciences and related studies, including students and retired seniors.

The EGU has a current portfolio of 17 diverse scientific journals, which use an innovative open access format, and organises a number of topical meetings, and education and outreach activities. Its annual General Assembly is the largest and most prominent European geosciences event, attracting over 11,000 scientists from all over the world. The meeting’s sessions cover a wide range of topics, including volcanology, planetary exploration, the Earth’s internal structure and atmosphere, climate, as well as energy and resources.

General Contact

EGU Executive Office
Philippe Courtial
Luisenstr. 37
80333 Munich

Phone +49-89-21806549
Fax +49-89-218017855
EGU Finance Office
5, rue René Descartes
67084 Strasbourg Cedex

Phone +33-6-88716155
EGU Press & Media
Bárbara Ferreira
Luisenstr. 37
80333 Munich

Phone +49-89-21806703
Fax +49-89-218017855